The British Book Award

The British
Book Award

Carnegie Medal

The Carnegie

Anne Fine

Home page


Younger Readers

Middle Readers

Teenage Readers

Solo Readers

Classic Fine

A Shame to Miss

Adult Novels



Children's Laureate

For Teachers


Foreign Editions


Site Map

Carnegie Medal

Children's Laureate 2001-2003

Carnegie Medal 1989, 1992

Whitbread Award 1993, 1996

Guardian Fiction Award 1990

Awards and Honours

Major awards

Anne Fine was the second Children's Laureate (2001-2003). She received an OBE in the 2003 Queen's Birthday Honours list. In the same year, she was elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature.

She has twice won the Carnegie Medal (for Flour Babies and Goggle-Eyes) and twice been named in the British Book Awards as Children's Author of the Year (in 1990 and 1993).

In 1986 Anne received a Scottish Arts Council Writer's Bursary, and in 1998 she was the UK nominee for the Hans Christian Andersen Author Award. She was Listening Books Children's Author of the Year in 1998, and in 2010 she won the inaugural Good Writing Award.

Anne with her honorary degree

Honorary degrees

She holds honorary degrees from three universities, and received the University of Northampton Fellowship of the College in 1993:

Degree of Doctor of Letters
University of Leicester, January 2017
Degree of Doctor of Letters
The University of Teesside, 23rd November 2007
Degree of Doctor of Letters honoris causa
The University of Warwick, 12 July 2005
Doctor of the University
The University of Central England in Birmingham, 7 February 2003.

Award Winning Books

Anne Fine's books have won many awards and prizes, not only in English-speaking countries but also in other countries where her books are available in translation. Full details are listed on the pages about the individual books (where you will also find additional information about some of the awards), but a selection of the outstanding awards are listed below:

The Devil Walks (Le Passage du Diable)
Prix Sorcières romans ados, 2015
Blood Family
Shortlisted, Carnegie Medal, 2014
Eating Things on Sticks
Shortlisted for the Roald Dahl Funny Prize, 2009
The More the Merrier
Shortlisted for Red House Children's Book Award, 2004
Shortlisted for the Calderdale Children's Award, 2003
Ivan the Terrible
Silver medal in the 2007 Nestlé Children's Book awards
The Road of Bones
Shortlisted, Carnegie Medal, 2007
Up on Cloud Nine
Highly commended, Carnegie Medal, 2002
American Library Association Notable Book Editor's Choice (USA - 2003)
Stories of Jamie and Angus
Boston Globe Horn Book Award (USA - 2003)
A Cooperative Children's Book Center Choice (USA)
Bad Dreams
Winner of the Stockport Schools' Book Award, 2001
Loudmouth Louis (Louis le bavard)
Prix Versele 2000 (Belgium)
Charm School
Shortlisted for Sheffield Children's Book Award 2000
The Tulip Touch
Winner of the Whitbread Children's Book Award, 1996
Highly Commended, Carnegie Medal, 1997
ALA Notable Children's Book (USA)
How to Write Really Badly
Winner of the Nasen Special Needs Book Award 1996
Step by Wicked Step
Shortlisted for Sheffield Children's Book Award, 1996
Shortlisted for Lancashire Children's Book Award, 1996.
Diary of a Killer Cat
Winner of the Nottinghamshire Libraries Award, 1995
The French translation, Journal d'un chat assassin won the Prix Versele (Belgium) and the Prix Sorcières premières lectures (France)
Winner of the Louisiana Young Readers' Choice Award (USA)
Flour Babies
Carnegie Medal 1993
Winner of Whitbread Children's Novel Award 1993
USA: Boston Globe/Horn Book Award Honour Book 1994
American Library Association Notable Children's Book
The Angel of Nitshill Road
Shortlisted for Carnegie Medal 1993
Shortlisted for Federation of Children's Book Groups Award 1993
Taking the Devil's Advice
Shortlisted for Glasgow Herald People's Prize 1991
Shortlisted for Grand Prix des Lectrices d'Elle 1993
A Pack of Liars
Winner of Dillons/Puffin Birmingham Book Award 1991
Carnegie Medal 1989
Winner of Guardian Children's Fiction Award 1990
Shortlisted for German Youth Literature Prize 1993
In the USA, My War With Goggle-Eyes was an American Library Association Notable Book
School Library Journal Best Book of the Year
Bill's New Frock
Winner of the Smarties Award (6 - 8 section) 1990
Highly Commended, Carnegie Medal 1989
Leicestershire Children's Book Prize 2012
Madame Doubtfire
Shortlisted for Observer Teenage Fiction Prize 1987
Shortlisted for Whitbread Children's Novel Award 1987
Runner-up for Guardian Children's Fiction Award 1987
The Killjoy
Scottish Arts Council Book Award 1986
Recommended, David Higham Prize for Fiction 1986
The Granny Project
Shortlisted for Guardian Children's Fiction Award 1984
The Summer House Loon
Runner-up Kestrel/Guardian Competition 1975

The photograph (which shows Anne Fine, centre, receiving her honorary degree from Warwick University accompanied by, left, Professor Jackie Labbe, English Department, and right, Professor David VandeLinde, Vice-Chancellor) is © 2005 University of Warwick and used with permission.